PiL - Leeds, Queens Hall, Futurama Sci-Fi Festival, UK
September 8th, 1979

Running Order:
1. Chant
2. Annalisa
3. Memories
4. Low Life
5. Public Image
6. Attack
7. Death Disco
8. Another
9. No Birds Do Sing

Running Time:
52 minutes (approx)

Sound Quality:
(7.5) quite decent Audience Recording
Tape Gradings Explained here

review by DINO EVERETT

This recording was released as a vinyl boot called 'Sci Fi'. Some of the tapes floating around feature a skip on the track 'Annalisa'.

This is the live debut of the track 'Another', and the last appearance of drummer Richard Dudanski.

An interesting gig since it sounds like a rather large venue due to the boomy sound of the tape. This gig finally has us able to hear some of the 'Metal Box' tracks although I am not happy that 'Theme' has been taken out of the set since that was always one of my favourites, but then PiL was never one to just cater to the whims of the fans.

There is a fade out on all versions after 'Low Life' which was the end of the record side. There is also a cut on some tapes after 'Another' since the set was too long for a standard 90 min cassette. At one point Johnny says "You want poxy rock n roll go and buy the fucking records." Was he talking about the Pistols? Or rock in general, I guess only Johnny knows for sure...


Bootleg Guide | Fodderstompf